What to know

The iPhone 8 & iPhone X Are Here

Apple iPhone X, iPhone 8 and iPhone 8 Plus

Apple didn’t just launch one new phone yesterday, but three – the iPhone 8, iPhone 8 Plus and iPhone X.

Yesterday was the biggest day for the Apple corporation and millions of their fans around the world. As they were expected to launch the latest generation of their flagship smartphone, the iPhone 8, they surprised the world with an even more powerful iPhone X (Roman numeral 10) in celebration of their 10 year anniversary.

The most prominent feature of the iPhone 8 and iPhone 8 Plus, other than minor upgrades to the cameras and processors, is that they charge wirelessly.


The iPhone 8 and iPhone 8 Plus are 7.4 inches and 5.5 inches across, respectively, and will be available in two versions – 64GB and 256GB – starting September 22.

The all-glass iPhone X however includes the new Face ID feature, and had its home button replaced with a side button. (Innovation or relocation?)

By all-glass design we mean that the phone is literally a big screen with no buttons. To unlock it, instead of tapping the home button like with the previous models, you’ll have to provide a face scan. Impressive feature? maybe, necessary? not really.


It will become available to buy as of November 3.

Despite Apple CEO Tim Cook calling it “the future of the smartphone” and describing it as the biggest leap forward since the original iPhone, it’s key feature failed to live up to it.

While Apple’s senior vice president of Software Engineering Craig Federighi attempted to demonstrate Face ID, Apple’s new facial recognition software, it failed and he resorted to unlocking the phone oldschool – by typing in the lock code.

During the event at the Steve Jobs Theater Apple also announced iOS 11, the newest version of their operating system, as well as a third generation of their Watch and a 4K Apple TV.

Here’s the ‘possibly’ overrated Apple Watch introduction video:

You Might Also Like