What to visit

World Nine-Ball Pool Championship Returns To Doha

World Nine-Ball Pool Championship in Doha, Qatar

The World Nine-Ball Pool Championship returns yet again to Qatar, bringing in some of the world’s most talented pool players.

The Qatar Billiards and Snooker Federation launched the 25th edition of the World Nine-Ball Pool Championship on July 30, and will continue until August 1.

It is the sixth consecutive year that Qatar hosts the tournament, which attracts both local and international players to compete for the title of World Champion.

This year, matches will be held throughout the day, from 8 am until 8 pm. The full match tale and special announcements can be found the Qatar Billiards and Snooker Federation’s Facebook page.

The World Nine-Ball Pool Championship hosted by Qatar Billiards and Snooker Federation

The World Nine-Ball Pool Championship hosted by Qatar Billiards and Snooker Federation

The WPA World Nine-Ball Championship is a professional nine-ball pool tournament held annually, with international player competing. It started in 1990, and is held across three divisions, men’s, women’s and wheelchair. The tournament is sanctioned by the World Pool-Billiards Association, and have been held in Doha, Qatar since 2010.

In 2000, the English sport event promotions company, Matchroom and the World Pool-Billiards Association agreed to merge Matchroom’s World Professional Pool Championship and the World Nine-Ball Championship into one major championship. A year earlier is was the first professional nine-ball pool championship to be televised, on ESPN.

You Might Also Like

  • Doha Gets Ready For The 2016 UCI World Road Championships - The life pile
    August 30, 2016 at 1:19 pm

    […] several international sports events hosted in Qatar this year. Earlier on in 2016, Doha hosted the World Nine-Ball Pool Championship, and will be hosting the World Bowling Championships in […]